McGILL BIRD OBSERVATORY

FALL SCHEDULE 2011

Below is the current schedule for the fall 2011 season.  Note that start times represent meeting times at the banding station (not at the gate), so please allow enough time for travel.  Banding day start times are scheduled to allow us to have nets open by sunrise, after which they will remain open for 5 hours.  We strongly encourage all volunteers to remain for the entire session, which typically is around 6 hours in total, including processing of final birds and tallying of daily totals.

For each date we need at least one census observer, one or two experienced extractors to assist the Bander-in-charge (BIC), and up to three additional volunteers.  Census follows a standard route for one hour each morning, beginning one hour after sunrise.  It should be done by an experienced birder, but one or two less experienced observers may accompany the censuser. 

This volunteer list will be updated at least weekly and any significant changes to the schedule will be circulated via the MBO mailing list.  To be added/removed for any dates, e-mail us at mbo @ migrationresearch.org.  Dates which are already full for "additional" volunteers are marked in red - but note that we can often still use the help of qualified extractors on these mornings.

Banders-in-charge (BICs):  SID - Simon Duval, GEG - Gay Gruner, MAG - Marcel Gahbauer, LAL - Lance Laviolette
(during the peak of the season we may have two BICs on some days)
 
Census leaders:  MBE - Mike Beaupré, ASB - Sue Bishop, JOC - Joël Coutu, JD - Jean Demers, LDB - Leah den Besten, BF - Barbara Frei, FRH - Fréderic Hareau, BAM - Barbara MacDuff, BHM - Betsy McFarlane, CMM - Chris Murphy, SAS - Ahmad Shaw, RDT - Rodger Titman, CLS - Clémence Soulard

Date

Sunrise Banding start Census start Census observer(s) BIC Lead extractors (2) Additional observers / assistants (maximum 3)
Mon Aug 1 5:39 5:15 6:40
BAM
SID
LIK
LKA
Tue Aug 2 5:39 5:15 6:40
LDB
GEG
LIK
RDJ
Wed Aug 3 5:40 5:15 6:40
SID
CLS, JD, LKA
Thu Aug 4 5:41 5:20 6:40
CLS, JD
SID
MVB
NIB
Fri Aug 5 5:42 5:20 6:40
SID
MVB
DDA, PAS, NIB
Sat Aug 6 5:44 5:20 6:45
CLS, JD
GEG
CLB
DDA, NIB
Sun Aug 7 5:45 5:20 6:45
LDB
SID
LDB
DDA, NIB, BPQ visit
Mon Aug 8 5:46 5:25 6:45
SID
LIK, NCF
LKA
Tue Aug 9 5:47 5:25 6:45
GEG
MVB, LIK
RDJ
Wed Aug 10 5:48 5:25 6:50
BF
SID
CLS, JD, LKA
Thu Aug 11 5:50 5:25 6:50
CLS, JD
SID
RDT
 
Fri Aug 12 5:51 5:30 6:50
SID
DDA, NIB
Sat Aug 13 5:52 5:30 6:50
RDT
GEG
CLB
DDA, NIB
Sun Aug 14 5:53 5:30 6:55
SID
DDA, NIB, LIF, MOV
Mon Aug 15 5:55 5:30 6:55
RDT
SID
MVB, LIK
LKA, CNS, TJK
Tue Aug 16 5:56 5:35 6:55
GEG
MVB, LIK
BEP, FRP, RDJ
Wed Aug 17 5:57 5:35 6:55
ASB, SAS
SID
CLS, JD, LKA
Thu Aug 18 5:58 5:35 7:00
CLS, JD
SID
RDT
LIF, MOV
Fri Aug 19 5:59 5:35 7:00
BF
SID
BOS
Sat Aug 20 6:01 5:40 7:00
RDT
GEG
LDL, CLB
KEM
Sun Aug 21 6:02 5:40 7:00
BF
SID
PAS, ALH
Mon Aug 22 6:03 5:40 7:05
BAM
SID
LIK
 
Tue Aug 23 6:04 5:40 7:05
GEG
RDT, LIK
BEP, RDJ, FRP
Wed Aug 24 6:05 5:40 7:05
ASB, SAS
SID
CLB
CLS, JD, NIB
Thu Aug 25 6:07 5:45 7:05
BF
SID
ALH, NIB
Fri Aug 26 6:08 5:45 7:10
BAM
SID
ALH, NIB
Sat Aug 27 6:09 5:45 7:10
RDT
GEG
NCF, CLB
PAS
Sun Aug 28 6:10 5:45 7:10
FRH
SID
LKA, FRH
Mon Aug 29 6:11 5:50 7:10
BAM
SID
LIK
CAR
Tue Aug 30 6:12 5:50 7:10
GEG
RDT, LIK
RDJ, CAR, FM
Wed Aug 31 6:13 5:50 7:15
ASB, SAS
SID
CLS, JD, RDJ
Thu Sep 1 6:15 5:50 7:15
CLS, JD
SID
RDT, MVB
CAR, ALH
Fri Sep 2 6:16 5:55 7:15
MBE
SID
MVB
ALH, BOS, TAE
Sat Sep 3 6:17 5:55 7:15
RDT
GEG
DMA, LLB
Sun Sep 4 6:18 5:55 7:20
MBE
SID
LKA, AAD, TAE
Mon Sep 5 6:19 5:55 7:20
RDT
SID
LIK
DMA, LLB, ALH
Tue Sep 6 6:21 6:00 7:20
BHM
GEG
RDT, LIK
FM, CAR, ALH
Wed Sep 7 6:22 6:00 7:20
SID
AMS
CLS, JD, FM
Thu Sep 8 6:23 6:00 7:25
CLS, JD
SID
MVB
FM, Ornithology Class
Fri Sep 9 6:24 6:00 7:25
LDB
SID
MVB, LDB
ALH, LKA, NIB
Sat Sep 10 6:25 6:00 7:25
MBE
GEG
PAS, NIB, ANM
Sun Sep 11 6:27 6:05 7:25
BAM
SID
NIC, KEP, JOO
Mon Sep 12 6:28 6:05 7:30
RDT
SID
LIK
FM, ALH, LKA
Tue Sep 13 6:29 6:05 7:30
BHM
GEG
RDT, LIK
FM, CAR, MPL
Wed Sep 14 6:30 6:05 7:30
LDB
SID
LDB
FM, NAB, SCP
Thu Sep 15 6:32 6:10 7:30
SID
MVB
CAR, ALH
Fri Sep 16 6:33 6:10 7:35
BAM
SID
MVB
ALH, SDI
Sat Sep 17 6:34 6:10 7:35
RDT
GEG
NIB
TAE, ALH
Sun Sep 18 6:35 6:10 7:35
FRH, JOC
SID
NIB
CHM
Mon Sep 19 6:36 6:15 7:35
BAM
GEG
LIK
ALH, BEB
Tue Sep 20 6:38 6:15 7:40
BHM
GEG
RDT, LIK
CAR, ALH, RED
Wed Sep 21 6:39 6:15 7:40
CLS, JD
GEG
CLS, JD, FM
Thu Sep 22 6:40 6:15 7:40
CLS, JD
GEG
RDT, LDB
CAR, LIK
Fri Sep 23 6:41 6:20 7:40
LDB
SID, GEG
LDB
PHD, KSJ, FM; NHV visit
Sat Sep 24 6:43 6:20 7:45
RDT
GEG
CLB
PAS, SAR, CAL
Sun Sep 25 6:44 6:20 7:45
FRH
SID
FRM, CORDEM visit
Mon Sep 26 6:45 6:20 7:45
BAM
SID
LIK
FM, ALH, RED
Tue Sep 27 6:46 6:25 7:45
BHM
GEG
RDT, LIK
CAR, GRK
Wed Sep 28 6:48 6:25 7:50
LDB
GEG
LDB
FM, ALH
Thu Sep 29 6:49 6:25 7:50
MAG
GEG, MAG
RDT, MVB
CAR, RED, LKA
Fri Sep 30 6:50 6:25 7:50
BAM
GEG, MAG
SDU
SDI, EVM
Sat Oct 1 6:51 6:30 7:50
MBE
MAG
SDU, RDT
TIZ, ALC, SKB
Sun Oct 2 6:53 6:30 7:55
BF
GEG, MAG
SDU
ALH, PTM, KEO
Mon Oct 3 6:54 6:30 7:55
BAM
GEG, MAG
LIK, SDU
RED, BRW, KEA
Tue Oct 4 6:55 6:30 7:55
BHM
GEG
RDT, LIK
SDU, ALH, MYH
Wed Oct 5 6:56 6:35 7:55
ASB, SAS
GEG
LIK, SDU
CLS, JD, FM
Thu Oct 6 6:58 6:35 8:00
CLS, JD
GEG
RDT
FM, ALH, KAB
Fri Oct 7 6:59 6:35 8:00
BAM
GEG
NCF
PHD, KSJ, FM, MAS
Sat Oct 8 7:00 6:35 8:00
RDT
BF
CLB
PAS, SAS, ERK
Sun Oct 9 7:02 6:40 8:00
SID
NIB
PTM, KHR, ALH
Mon Oct 10 7:03 6:40 8:05
SID
NCF, LKA
ALH, RED, EVT
Tue Oct 11 7:04 6:40 8:05
BHM
GEG
RDT
RDJ, CHR, TAZ
Wed Oct 12 7:05 6:40 8:05
ASB, SAS
SID
NCF
CLS, JD, ELR
Thu Oct 13 7:07 6:45 8:05
CLS, JD
GEG
RDT, MVB
ALH, LJB, SLC
Fri Oct 14 7:08 6:45 8:10
BAM
GEG
MVB
DDA, MAS
Sat Oct 15 7:09 6:45 8:10
RDT
GEG
DDA, PAS, EMP
Sun Oct 16 7:11 6:50 8:10
BF
GEG
LKA
DDA, ALH, ASU, JOG
Mon Oct 17 7:12 6:50 8:10
BAM
GEG
NCF
RED, THG, SGD
Tue Oct 18 7:13 6:50 8:15
BHM
GEG
BEP, RDJ, LIR, EMP
Wed Oct 19 7:15 6:50 8:15
ASB, SAS
SID
CLS, JD, RDJ
Thu Oct 20 7:16 6:55 8:15
CLS, JD
SID
RDT, MVB
ALH, SHC, CAP
Fri Oct 21 7:17 6:55 8:15
BAM
SID
DDA, MAS, EVT, KHR
Sat Oct 22 7:19 6:55 8:20
RDT
GEG
DDA, PAS, JWA
Sun Oct 23 7:20 6:55 8:20
MBE
SID
LIK, LKA
DDA, LIJ, KRF, CAP
Mon Oct 24 7:22 7:00 8:20
BAM
SID
LIK
MAD, SEG, GEB, MIR
Tue Oct 25 7:23 7:00 8:25
BHM
GEG
RDT, LIK
BEP, RDJ, AMR
Wed Oct 26 7:24 7:00 8:25
ASB, SAS
SID
CLS, JD, RDJ, SCP
Thu Oct 27 7:26 7:05 8:25
CLS, JD
SID
RDT, MVB
RED, CKL, LJB, SHC
Fri Oct 28 7:27 7:05 8:25
BAM
SID
DDA, TAE, STG, BEL
Sat Oct 29 7:29 7:05 8:30
RDT
GEG
DDA, APP, ATT
Sun Oct 30 7:30 7:05 8:30
BF
SID
LKA
DDA, LAD, VIG

 

2002- The Migration Research Foundation Inc.